A Reverse Applique Waistcoat

20160228_090503
Reverse Applique Waistcoat

I made this waistcoat for my husband several years ago and never blogged it. No idea why.  I’m writing about it now because the quilt group I belong to, Welsh Heritage Quilters,  are putting on an exhibition 26th March – 9th April (Minerva Centre, Llanidloes) and I thought I’d show this.

The top is made of stretch velvet stabilised with interfacing. The underneath layer is silk taffeta. I beaded with glass beads and the machine threads are a mixture of variegated threads from cheap to expensive – silk to manmade.

Does he wear it? Yes, for several New Year parties or anything else where bling is an option.

Thanks for dropping by.

Norma x

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

7 thoughts on “A Reverse Applique Waistcoat”

    1. I used the stretch velvet because you get the plush look without the height so you can see the cutaway. I had to stabilise it first though.

      1. Velvet is very tricky to work with. Did you use a fusible or woven stabilizer? I ask because I’d think steam pressing a fusible would damage the plush look of the velvet.

      2. Visible. I tried it first. I may have lost a little pile but the velvet still had a rich look afterwards. If it hadn’t worked I don’t think there would have been an alternative.
        Woven wouldn’t have held the velvet stable enough for all the cutting and embellishment. Thick pile velvet wouldn’t have shown all the work properly.

    1. It’s really fabulous, Norma. I’m glad you showed us some close-ups of the details. hmmm, I might have a try with it. I’m suffering with stretch velvet sewing at the moment, however, and have resorted to hand-sewing a Poiret Cocoon Coat!

Leave a Reply

