Old Jeans Reused

I have a real passion for reusing textiles.  I will try to mend more or less anything: it’s a mainstay of my little business and of my life generally.  Once mending isn’t practical I go on to reusing.

I buy my jeans secondhand – most of the ones I buy look almost new – and I wear them to death.  After that I try to make something else from them. I think this bag is a big success so I thought I’d share it.

Jeans bagI’ve had a request for more pictures of Gus, so here he is.

I’m displaying my new recycled jeans bag and wearing Red Herring top from car boot sale and posher than usual Per Una jeans from the St Catherine’s Hospice shop.

Jeans bag close upClose up of jeans bag

I patched fabric scraps on to a piece of curtain lining, added part of the leg of some old jeans on top, sewed lots of zigzags in lines to hold the fabric together and then cut back the denim.

I didn’t take any photos of the process, but if anyone is interested I can easily do some more and post a tutorial.  Please let me know in the comments if you would: l love the process so don’t mind having another go.

Hope you are all having a good week. My treat of the week was bright red hair – better in reality than on the photo.  I’ve been working quite hard though, so I’m planning a relaxing trip to the charity shops tomorrow.

xxx

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

30 thoughts on “Old Jeans Reused”

  1. The bag looks great, and yes please, a tutorial would be good.
    Always lovely to see gorgeous Gus, and bright red hair is a proper treat – getting my grey roots sorted on Friday too! xxxx

  2. Looks like a strong bag. I need a new library bag, the last one is not strong enough to hold all my heavy books anymore. I think this will be perfect 🙂
    Another vote for a tutorial please.

  3. Thanks so much for granting my request! I bet Gus has the silkiest of ears. I miss silky dog ears.
    What an incredibly interesting technique. Until I read your description I thought, “How did she get all those fiddley little strips sewn in place.” So I assume they weren’t strips to begin with. I’d also be interested in seeing a step-by-step tutorial.

      1. Even when I had a dog I ‘co-parented’ her. She didn’t live with me. Right now, I live in an apartment and I travel to the U.K. for months at a time to see my boyfriend, so it wouldn’t be practical for me to have a dog. Thanks for getting him in more posts.

  4. Norma, this is a very creative and clever repurposing of your jeans. I’ve not seen a bag like this before but I’m sure you’ll get lots of interest and compliments on it.

Leave a Reply

