The Long Summer Break is Over

Kingsdown BeachKingsdown Beach, Kent

Thank you for all your good wishes for my summer break. There have been lots of changes in my life over the last few months and I have really appreciated the support from my blogging buddies.  I’ll be checking into your blog very shortly if I haven’t already: I’m looking forward to chatting to you all again.

I wasn’t at the beach for the whole summer – just for one very sunny week. Heaven!

Me!Me!

Completely scruffy, but no point being vain.  This is probably the only picture of me taken all summer.

It’s all change for us.  My other half was made redundant in June.   It’s a bit scarey but it seems like a chance to live as we really want to.

My allotmentMy allotment

I’ve had the allotment for about nine years – ever since I left my proper job. I love it! We’re not allowed livestock, so no chickens: flowers & veg only. I dream of having a small holding but this is a really good alternative.  I’ve made lots of jam – rhubarb and ginger, strawberry, gooseberry so far but still some autumn jams to go.

I’ve been doing a lot of sewing over the summer for customers and for me.   All the positive comments and constructive criticism from my blogging buddies has given me confidence so who knows where my tiny business might lead me.

I’ll be doing a bit of sewing show and tell over the next week or two but I’m off now to look at what you’ve been up to.  xxx

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

8 thoughts on “The Long Summer Break is Over”

  1. So good to see you back, Norma! Love the pic of you gazing at all that lovely scenery. Glad the sewing is going well, sorry to hear about your OH’s redundancy but it could be an opportunity to do things differently, as you say. That’s a fabulous allotment you’ve got there, and the jam-making sounds epic! xxxx

  2. Welcome back. I’m sorry to hear about your other half’s redundancy. You sound very positive and hopefully new and wonderful opportunities will present themselves. Looking forward to your sewing show and tell. Now, where’s that dog of yours? 🙂

  3. Hi Norma 🙂 So nice to have you back online, but I totally understand your desire to take a break from it. Your allotment is lovely and it sounds like you’ve got plenty of goodies to show for the work put in.

    Sorry to hear about your partner’s work situation but as you say, change has some bright sides to it. xo

  4. I’m so pleased to have you back! That picture of you gazing out at that breathtaking view is just wonderful, it epitomises freedom and endless posibility. Here’s to your other half’s redundancy being a positive and happy change to both your lives. xxx

  5. I’m glad to see you back! I’m sorry to hear about the traumas of the redundancy, but I join the others in wishing that it brings you a positive and productive outcome.

  6. Glad to see you back. The allotment looks like a little piece of heaven. I’ll keep the both of you in my thoughts as you go through this transition together.

  7. So glad you’re back. I had a very long break myself and haven’t quite been able to take up my sewing again quite yet, but I’m staying busy with other creative things while I’m trying to organize and in the meantime, taking inspiration from my fellow bloggers.

Leave a Reply

