A trip back in time

Singing George Formby!I took this photo at Amberley Chalk Pits Museum on Sunday.  They had a 1940s weekend as well as their usual industrial history exhibits. This couple sang some really funny songs.  There were some amazing dancers too but I was so involved in watching them I forgot to take photos. How can I ever hope to be a proper blogger ???

Gus & meHere’s Gus getting in the photo as usual.  He hardly ever looks at the camera though. I wanted to get the buses in the photo as I think they’re lovely – so much more glamourous than a modern bus (but probably much less comfortable).

As it’s still Me Made May, I should mention my outfit.  Top refashioned from a skirt and refashioned linen skirt.   Tweed hacking jacket with velvet collar (bought about 10 years ago in a sale) and boots from Green Shoes.

The linen skirt is one of my favourites.

Worn here a few days ago with the same top:

Me Made May

It looked like this before:

Linen skirt before refashionI have a big pile of clothes to refashion – the skirt I made from my failed Sureau dress has been taken apart & I am including the fabric in a patchwork skirt.

I have lots of me mades I haven’t worn: they just don’t suit me.  I’ve been wearing a few favourites over & over so it’s time for a refashioning session.

I’m hoping to display some refashioned clothes & my new 1970s shoes very soon.

Meanwhile, this is my favourite Me Made May photo so far:

Gus! Hope you like it!

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

13 thoughts on “A trip back in time”

  1. What fun! Love your photos and I agree the old buses have so much more style. I’m confused about your skirt. Did you dye it brown? And what a nice dog you have. 🙂

    1. Thank you!
      Yes, I dyed the skirt brown as well as shortening it & taking it in at the waist. I got it from a charity shop but it still had the tags on so someone else thought it wasn’t very flattering too. I imagined it as an unwanted gift. What do you think?

  2. Your day at the festival sounds fun! And thanks for sharing some more of your makes. I must blog a simple gathered skirt I made last week, which was admired by a friend, whom I helped make one for herself!

  3. Oh yes, old buses are wonderful. As is your outfit, both the one accessorized by the very stylish Gus, and your purple coat.xxx

  4. oh we love 1940 events we usually have one here on the august bank holiday they are great fun. love your choc labrador too. ours died last year at age twelve and we still talk about him all the time and miss him loadsxxxxx

Leave a Reply

