New Coat – Purple of Course

Minoru coat

I’ve finished the Minoru Coat at last.  The intention was to have a wearable toile and I think it’s very wearable.

Hood up

I made the version with the hood – it zips into the collar if it’s not needed.

I followed the 2012 Sewalong at Sewaholic patterns and learned a lot.

Now for the technical details:

What did I change?

I didn’t elasticate the waist because I made it from such heavy fabric it would have looked bulky.

I added a couple of in seam pockets for a handkerchief or a dog biscuit or two.

Would I make it again?

Definitely. I am going to make a waterproof version with patch pockets.

What was best about the pattern?

I like the two hidden pockets inside and the extra hip room -my hips are small compared with the rest of me but the extra room is good for cycling and riding.

Would I recommend the Minoru pattern?

Yes, definitely.  But if you are not very experienced I think the Sewalong details really help.

I really made the jacket to ride in but I can’t quite bring myself to get it dirty.  Not yet anyway.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

17 thoughts on “New Coat – Purple of Course”

  1. I didn’t notice that, but now that you mention it I do see that the sleeve could be shortened a little I suppose. When they’re long you have the advantage of pulling them down over your hands to stay warm. 🙂 It looks very nice as is!

  2. What a brilliant coat, Norma, it look fantastic! Great colour, of course, and I love the practical details.
    I can’t believe you made a COAT! You’re so clever. xxx

  3. Ahh, what a lovely color on you. And it looks fabulous – with a hood too. And secret pockets. And a great picture of you and your chocolate lab, what a sweetie.

  4. That jacket will be useful even now. Spring is so chilly this year. I’m so happy your toile worked out for you.

    1. I like to short cut the toile sometimes but it does involve a lot of measuring the pattern and experiment. I wouldn’t have done it except the fabric was such a bargain.
      I have just tried on a toile for a dress after much measuring & pattern altering & still it isn’t right. Oh well!

  5. Gorgeous color! And I’m also impressed that you made a coat. (I bet you’re dog is thinking “Why does Mom have a coat on when we’re not even going out).

Leave a Reply

