Banana and Walnut Loaf

Banana and Walnut Loaf

Food rather than clothes.  Yesterday was a snowy day and I did some baking as well as sewing.

This cake uses up bananas that have gone a bit soft.  The recipe was given to me by an American friend so it has measurements in cups.  If you don’t have cup measures, I find that a teacup works fine.  It isn’t a cake that needs precision.

Start by greasing a large loaf tin and turning on the oven at Gas 4 or 175C.

Mix these together and put aside for later:

2 cups of plain flour – I usually go for 1 cup white & 1 wholemeal but it works with all wholemeal

1/2 teaspoon each of baking powder, salt & cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

Then:

Cream 1/2 cup of butter – I use my food mixer

1960s Food Mixer

Beat in about 1/3 cup of dark brown sugar

Then beat in 1/3 cup of granulated sugar

Beat in 2 eggs – 1 at a time

Beat in:

1/2 cup of plain yoghurt

2 medium size ripe mashed bananas

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Stir in the flour mixture  – don’t go too far, it shouldn’t be mixed much

Stir in 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts

Turn into the loaf tin, smooth the top and cook for about 55 minutes.

I check it’s done by seeing whether a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Eat fresh for the best flavour, but it’s fine buttered later in the week.

Kenwood Chef - 1960s

My early 1960s Kenwood Chef – inherited.  The bowl should be white pyrex but I broke it washing up. It still works a treat & it’s probably 50 years old.

I hope you all have a fun week.xx

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

14 thoughts on “Banana and Walnut Loaf”

  1. I’m going to make that – we always have over-ripe bananas which no one will touch! The cake looks delicious. xxxx

  2. There’s something very cozy about baking bread, cake or muffins on a cold day. Hope you enjoyed the cake with a good, not cup of tea.

  3. Looks delicious! And such a great way to use up those sad looking bananas that get left in the fruit bowl. Adding yogurt sounds good too.
    Lovely to see an old Kenwood Chef still going strong! x

  4. I’m a big fan of banana bread as well. I make banana muffins at least twice a month, keeping them in the freezer and taking them out one at a time so I don’t eat the whole batch 🙂 Old appliances are great workhorses. New ones are so flimsy. I love the multi-colored tiling in your kitchen.

Leave a Reply

