1930s Clothes

1930s Suit

I bought this 1934 copy of Home Journal about 20 years ago.  Included in it is this 1930s suit pattern – complete with blouse.

I’ve been recovering from an evil chest infection, so apologies if I haven’t been round to your blog recently.  To be honest, I’ve done hardly anything but I am catching up now.

All the sewing I’ve done recently has been for other people – presents, so secret and I might be about to start up a little business as I’ve had a few requests from other people.

In the absence of much sewing, I thought it might be interesting to look at some 1930s patterns and magazines.  Just click on the images to get a bigger view.  Hope you enjoy them.

Image (3)

Pattern instruction page.  The pattern is on thin brown paper – a bit stronger than tissue paper and looks unused.  I’d love to make it, but I never wear suits so it would just sit in the wardrobe if I did.

Image (4)

This is a 1933 Vogue pattern that I’ve actually made and worn.  I will definitely make it again some time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My version.

Image (2)

Fabulous fashion ad for 1934. I fancy the “are you coming?” coat – second from the left on the top row.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

9 thoughts on “1930s Clothes”

  1. What a coincidence. I was just looking at a book of 30s fashions last night thinking they would never suit me either. It really was a time for boyish figures, wasn’t it? The illustration with the yellow dress is lovely. I admire your patience at making a dress with so many pleats.

Leave a Reply

