New Life for Old Jeans

Jumble sale jeans that don’t fit, shrunken (well maybe!) jeans, jeans battered beyond mending, or any sort of old jeans – I’ve had them all. I’m trying to avoid throwing my old clothes in landfill so I’m always looking for new uses.

The skirt was made from the leg fabric of two pairs of very old jeans. Some bits were too worn to use so had to be cut away.

Back view

To start: cut the tops off and then cut away the leg seams. There are four pieces of fabric from each pair of jeans.

To straighten up the fabric cut off the hems from each piece and use a rotary cutter and ruler to make oblongs following the stright grain.

Look for the lengthwise lines running down the fabric – this is the straight grain.

Take out your skirt pattern and work out what would look best for each piece – I alternated colours.

Sew your pieces together lengthwise until big enough to cut out each pattern piece. I used jeans thread to top stitch those extra seams.

Make up the pattern exactly as usual – or not if you prefer.  My pattern had a button front and I wanted a short front zip like most jeans skirts have.

Decorate! I used the back pockets from one pair of jeans to make decorative pockets for the front of the skirt.  I also top stitched lots.

The end result

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

1 thought on “New Life for Old Jeans”

Leave a Reply

