William Morris and Me

Quilt made from William Morris prints.

I love William Morris. Not just the famous prints, but his writings too.  Remember that famous quote?

“Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.” (Hopes and Fears for Art).

I would love to live up to that in my everyday life.

Every so often, I start looking around the house with that saying in mind and getting rid of things.  I don’t get very far. I class as useful things that make me smile, or give me a warm feeling, or at least brighten up an otherwise dull room.  One day I shall do it and my house will be transformed. One day…

Anyway, the Me Made May challenge has really got me thinking about my wardrobe rather than my house. Some pieces I would class as beautiful, but they are usually evening wear and I don’t get to wear them very often.  I need more useful clothes.

Dress form modelling evening clothes.

It’s pretty scarey to see yourself in a photograph everyday. Those trousers are too baggy, that colour is too dull or those pieces don’t go together. Some of my clothes are neither useful nor beautiful so something had to be done – I need more useful clothes.

So, last week it was wide leg trousers to narrow leg:

Me Made May Day 14

This week I’m having a dyeing frenzy.  A grey linen shirt, however beautifully made, just doesn’t look good on me.  So now it’s blue and looking much better.

A “natural” cardigan just doesn’t suit me.  I didn’t make it, but in the right colour it could make some of my me mades look more pulled together. So now it’s terracotta.  When spring really arrives it will be another way of wearing this refashioned skirt.

These pale grey trousers are way too smart for my life; I’ve worn them twice, perhaps three times in a year.

 It’s a pity to put in all that effort and still have nothing to wear, so now they are navy and I’m wearing  them.  Hooray!

Me Made May Day 16

So, I’ve thought about my wardrobe, put in a bit of effort and I’ve got a few more clothes to wear for Me Made May and, I hope, for future months.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

5 thoughts on “William Morris and Me”

  1. Haven’t you been busy?
    I love your quilt and that quote of William Morris’s is one of my favourites. I’m afraid that although the contents of my wardrobe is beautiful very little’s useful hence a massive wardrobe crisis when i need to do something mundane!
    I love the dyed cardi and those smart trousers now they’re blue. Nice work! x

  2. I love that quote too, it is a great mantra for a household 🙂
    You are doing such a great job with me-made May! And you are so right, looking at photos of oneself is a real learning curve. I’ve learnt some brutal truths about my wardrobe and my posture has improved outasight since started taking photos of myself in my own creations.
    Thanks so much for your kind comments!

  3. I love your William Morris Print Quilt – just beautiful! That’s such a great quote and I guess, without knowing it’s source, I’ve been striving towards that very sentiment (albeit slowly!) Great clothing makeovers – such a good way to get the most out of something that you already have 🙂

Leave a Reply

