The one where I make shoes

Last Friday I went to Green Shoes in Devon for a day’s shoemaking course – a birthday present from my other half.

I could hardly sleep the night before for excitement. I have been looking forward to this for weeks.  I was like a child in a sweet shop when I walked into the old mill at Buckfastleigh – lovely shoes in so many styles and colours. Fingering all the choices, trying on styles and deciding on the colours took ages.

I wasn’t going to have purple because I already have two pairs of purple shoes….but how could I not have purple?   I couldn’t.  So these are turquoise and purple shoes.

With lots of help from the friendly, expert shoemakers at Green Shoes the size was decided, leather cut, sewn together until finally a pair of lovely shoes appeared.

Here’s a few photos:

Image  The pieces laid on the lining ready for cutting.

ImageBefore the tidying up.

ImageAlmost ready.

ImageThe finished article. 

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

5 thoughts on “The one where I make shoes”

  1. You’re a woman after my own heart — “I already have two pairs of purple shoes….” Your turquoise/purple ones are fabulous. I’ve always loved the Green Shoes range. It is one of the few companies that make vegan shoes. I didn’t know they had shoemaking courses. I will have to check them out for the next time I am in the UK!

Leave a Reply

