Liberty Print Skirt to Tunic – no pattern required

I haven’t forgotten Me Made June. I’ve been sticking to my pledge – just not recording my outfits (lots of repeats – if not the same garment, the same pattern).

I’ve actually finished something new & worn it on Day 29. It started as this:

And finished as this:

I spotted the skirt through the open door of a charity shop.  It’s a Liberty print from the ’80s or ’90s.  The fabric is cotton lawn & very fine. The skirt wasn’t my sort of thing but there was lots of lovely fabric in it.

I cut off the waistband, undid the hem & seams and washed and ironed it.

The tunic is made from two rectangles & tucks make it the right size & shape.

I used a plate to get the front neckline shape & the button placket is just a cut in the front as far as the waist & then turned back on each side.  The buttons came from an old blouse long since recycled.

No pattern required.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

2 thoughts on “Liberty Print Skirt to Tunic – no pattern required”

Leave a Reply

