Old wrap skirt to new blouse

I had a once much loved linen wrap skirt that I hadn’t worn for years.  It was faded on the outside & in any case was difficult to cycle in – wrap skirts tend to fly open when cycling.

I  decided to turn it into a blouse for every day wear & turned to Vogue 2634(adapted). I’ve made this pattern up at least half a dozen times in various guises.

 There wasn’t enough fabric for conventional cutting out so I cut everything singly & cut the back into 5 pieces so that I could use the edges of skirt panels.Back view

I needed to use the hem of the skirt to get the length but had to use the inside to avoid too faded a look.  This led me to the leftovers from a not very successful linen dress – made about 15 years ago – I used it for flowery strips to cover the hem edge & then cut bias strips for the armholes & collar trim.

Front View

There’s hardly anything left from the skirt now & I’ve got a blouse to wear over jeans or jodphurs for everyday wear.

The leftovers
Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

Leave a Reply

