Refashioning a man’s shirt into a blouse

Men’s shirting fabrics are lovely & most used shirts are worn on collar & cuffs only, so they have lots of lovely fabric to work with.

This shirt was not much bigger than I am. I think it’s easier to use a very much larger shirt because you can just cut lay out a commercial blouse pattern on the cut up pieces & of you go. My way is trickier but fun.

This is the shirt before I did anything.

Cutting off the collar.

Starting the shaping.  I used a dummy to help with the shaping but I had to keep trying the shirt on to check it looked ok.

Next, I cut down the double turn back cuffs to size.

Shortening. Done at an angle to make an interesting shape at the bottom of the shirt.

More shaping.

I cut some of the fullness from the sleeves, finished the edges with bias binding cut from an old sheet and changed the buttons.

And here it is:

Front view.

Back view.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

2 thoughts on “Refashioning a man’s shirt into a blouse”

Leave a Reply

