More Self Stitched September

Some of my outfits are missing……..

I didn’t get photos every day.  There have been lots of repetitions so I haven’t included them.

The difficulty of finding new outfits to wear has inspired me to get sewing again – within the restrictions of sewing from my stash or from charity shop stuff.  So here goes.

Day17

The shirt was made from this:

I redid as few seams as possible.  I recut the sleeves & armholes, cut the cuffs in half , took off the collar, added 1960s lace to the collar & cuffs &  replaced the ordinary men’s shirt buttons with little square shell buttons. I put a horizontal pleat in the back and highlighted it with more shell buttons.  I have noticed when turning men’s shirts into women’s blouses that as soon as the front fits the back needs a tuck to stop rather unattractive fabric bulges appearing.

 The skirt is in needlecord  and made from Simplicity 3881.   

Day 18

New Look blouse.  The bag  is my own design. I based it around photos of my horse and made it mainly in tweeds & felted wool. I love that bag & it holds memories of a much loved horse.

Day 19

The blouse was my second attempt at Simplicity 2501 (first version on day 21).  I had some fitting issues with this.  You can see from the photo that they haven’t been resolved completely but I like the shape a lot.  The skirt also appears on Day 7.  I didn’t like the look of it in the photo so I have shortened it. I like it much bettter now.

Day 20

Sadly I got a big stain on this before there was a chance to take a photo, so I’ll move on to:

Day 21

The blouse is the first version of Simplicity 2501.  It’s pretty material but the fit could be better. The skirt is the same as day 19.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

Leave a Reply

