Clothes Challenge

I can’t remember where I read it, but someone said that there are already enough clothes in the world to last  for the next 10 years.  I can well believe it when I look inside my wardrobe.

If I had to make this cupboard full of clothes last that long I would certainly be bored with them and I’d probably look rather raggy before I reached the end. Maybe I’d be allowed to use other people’s cast offs too?

No new clothes for 10 years challenge? Not yet, I’m afraid.  Still, I do want to do something about my consumption, so I’ve joined Self Stitched September ( www.sewzowhatdoyouknow.blogspot.com ) organised by Zoe, who also organised the Me Made May challenge. 

Making your own clothes and remaking charity shop finds is a lot slower than buying in shops (at least when I do it) so that should help me cut consumption.  It’s also very hard for me to throw away anything I’ve sewed myself , so I’ll be trying to make the best of what I’ve already made.

I hope to display the Self Stitched September Button soon but I have to work out how to do it.  Meantime, take a look at the link above and click on the Self Stitched September Button there to find out what this is all about. 

I’m also challenging myself to buy no more brand new clothes or fabric until the end of September so I’ll have to use my stash & charity shop finds to make any new clothes. 

Is this enough?  I don’t think so, but it’s a start.  Meanwhile I’ll be researching what might be a sustainable level of clothing for one person and posting the results here. If anyone can suggest research sources I’d be glad to hear from you.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

Leave a Reply

