The 1930s dress is finished

This is it!  My first attempt at a vintage pattern.  I like the dress but I think I should have made it in a darker colour –  it would make me look slimmer, I think.

It taught me lots of  new things including patience.  The pleats were a really long job & it took me a lot of thinking to work out the yoke.  It’s not easy to see the yoke details but you can just about see the tucks here.

This was my first covered button too.  

I think it was just as well I used a modern version of the pattern (Vogue 2671 from 1933) because I needed to understand the vintage techniques. I think those of you who start with the original patterns are very brave.

Will I wear it?  Yes I think so.

Will I try vintage patterns again? Definitely.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

2 thoughts on “The 1930s dress is finished”

  1. It’s a lovely dress. All the little details, the tucks and the pleats, though tricky to do also make it special. The 1930s illustrations are gorgeous – but just go to prove that a ridiculously slimmed down and elongated silhouette is not a modern phenomenon! xxx

Leave a Reply

