Man’s shirt to woman’s blouse

This shirt belonged to my other half .  It was made of lovely cotton fabric but the collar and cuffs were very worn.  Usually I save things like that for patchwork but decided to have a go at turning it into a blouse for me with as little taking apart as possible.

I shortened the sleeves from the top and took in the sides, shaping them slightly as I went.  I also shotened the body & made slits at the bottom so it would look better when worn over skirts & trousers. 

I cut the collar off  & cut the cuffs to half size.  I added 1960s lace to the collar stand & cuffs to hide the fact that I couldn’t turn in the edges.

The shape still wasn’t right so I added a bust dart.  This raised the length of the shirt a bit so I tucked the back to match the length & added shell buttons to make it a feature.  The front & cuffs now have shell buttons too.

Do I wear it? Yes.  I really like it.  Would I do it again? Yes I would.

The skirt is needlecord made using Simplicity 3881.  The only alteration was to lengthen the straight bit to get my knees covered. Back view.

Author: norma

Hello, I'm Norma and I live in Wales. I love animals, baking, growing veggies but my big loves are sewing and history.

Leave a Reply

