Berlin Days

Anyone remember Cabaret?  It was one of my favourite films.

I went to Berlin for the first time in the 1980s – before the wall came down and it seemed a sad place but I’ve always wanted to go back. So that’s where we went, taking the Eurostar to Brussels, changing in Cologne and reaching Berlin about 12 hours later. Train travel is my absolute favourite: it really feels like travel.

Askanischer HofThis was the hotel – the Askanischer Hof in Charlottenburg. Gogeous art deco place dating from the 1920s.

Our bedroomOur bedroom. Does it remind you of Cabaret? Well, nearly. A girl can dream can’t she?

StaircaseChristopher IsherwoodIn search of Cabaret, Christopher Isherwood, cycling around Potsdam, hanging out in Prenslauerberg, the Turkish Market, museums, history…. so much to do and only a week to do it in. I’d love to go back.

Spy Exchange Bridge This is where spies used to be exchanged during the Cold War.

BerlinIt was colder there than here. I wore my coat every day – and needed it!

Everything me-made except boots from Green Shoes, tights – retail, denim jacket – charity shop.

Good news at home too.  My other half has a new job and I’ve just started a temp job at M & S.

Happy weekend xxx

9 thoughts on “Berlin Days

  1. Thank you for sharing these wonderful photos. I appreciate the quality detail and artistry put into older buildings. We have some of that type of thing here, but so much of our construction is modern and rather utilitarian. Looks like a fun trip. And congrats on the new jobs. That’s great!!

  2. Wow! What a fab holiday! I went to Berlin on an orchestra tour in 1986, when it was still divided, and loved it! The Cabaret hotel looks wonderful, what an amazing staircase! Good luck to you oth for your new jobs.

  3. Morma, I’m so happy that you got to wear your purpl.e coat and other pretties that you made. The pics are lovely and I think your hotel room was lovely. Congrats to you and your hubby on your new jobs. It’s great that everything is coming together for you both.

  4. Terrific photos, and a great trip! I would love to visit those places… one of these days :) Congratulations on the new jobs for both of you. I’m really happy for you!

  5. Great pics, I have never been to Berlin and would dearly love to go.
    You have fab legs, you should wear shorter skirts more often, Norma!
    Congrats to your other half on the new job, and to you too. xxx

  6. I haven’t been to Berlin since the 90s but have been wanting to get back there. So glad you had a wonderful time and that there is good news on the job front.

Leave a Reply

