Wearing the Blues

Blue skirt & blouse

My new clothes.  I feel smart enough to work in an office.   A blue cord skirt made from my own pattern.

Blue cord skirt

And my first Deer and Doe Airelle blouse. The main fabric is cotton lawn. The fabric has to be soft and drapey as the blouse can’t be very fitted: there are no fastenings at all.  Rather like a non-stretch tee shirt.

Airelle blouse

I love the pattern and will definitely make another.  Very French don’t you think?  The contrast collar and cuffs were made from a scrap of quilting fabric.

Airelle pattern

I have the Robe Sureau pattern to try too –  maybe some of my birthday fabric.

Cord skirt

I thought the skirt and blouse would be good together, but I made the skirt first and couldn’t wait to wear it.

Blue Airelle and skirt

I have started my purple Minoru jacket but it won’t be ready soon because I am making a dress for someone else – a customer! I have started a business to do repairs and alterations but I was asked to make a dress.  And yes, she has seen me wearing my me mades and was happy with the standard.  Exciting!

New clothes and a new business, I’m so happy  I’m linking this to Lakota’s Ta Dah Tuesday.

16 thoughts on “Wearing the Blues

  1. Norma, that such exciting news! What a compliment to your skills. I can completely understand why anyone would want clothes made by you! The skirt and blouse look lovely. I love the contrasting collar and cuffs.
    PS. Deep Purple – fabulous! xxxx

  2. I wish you much success Norma! The blue skirt looks very good with the top. I think you will have many more customers.

  3. Such success your having. The top and skirt look great together. And yes, the blouse is very French, especially with the contrasting collar and cuffs. Congratulations on your commission and new enterprise. woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

