Was it was here?

Chatsworth Road, Clapton

For the first time in more than thirty years I went back to the street where I lived when I moved to London.  This is Chatsworth Road, Clapton and this might be the shop I lived above. Only it was a shoe shop then and I lived at the back: yard view not street view. I really don’t know if it was the same place or not.  How crazy is that?

Birthday fabric

On a more certain note, my other half’s mum gave me some money for a shopping spree in London and I bought all this fabric on Walthamstow Market for £50.  Karen at Did you Make That? recommends the market and I can easily see why. If you can get along there on a Saturday it’s definitely worth it.

The striped fabric is pure wool made in Huddersfield – probably for trousers;

the purple is a wool type destined to be my first Minoru jacket, a practice for a waterproof and more expensive version ;

Minoru pattern

the turquoise is jersey  for my next long sleeved tee shirt.  I said there would be another and I meant it;

the spotty fabric is soft cotton for a dress – maybe Robe Sureau or New Look 6000.

Thank you to everyone who commented on my tee shirt – I really appreciate your encouragement.  Pattern making seems the way to go if I can get to grips with it.  Just think of being able to make anything you can imagine…….

11 thoughts on “Was it was here?

  1. How frustrating not to remember your old flat.
    Great fabric haul, looking forward to seeing your completed makes, which knowing you, won’t be long! x

  2. Isn’t it funny, the things you NEVER imagine you will ever forget… Until you do!
    All your fabric looks great, Norma. I have started trauling Ebay on the look out for vintage fabrics, and picked up quite a big piece at the flea market. Get me, talking fabrics! xxxx

  3. I look forward to seeing what you come up with Rosie. What a lovely gift from your Mother-In-Law.

    And you keep at that patternmaking, little by little. The important thing is to stay observant during your fittings. By understanding what parts need alteration the process gets easier over time.

    For example, I have sloping shoulders. Even with a custom drafted pattern, I sometimes need to fix something in this area, especially if the style has a wide neckline.

    EmilyAnn Frances
    Josie’s Attic: http://josiesattic.wordpress.com/

  4. Hello – I have just found your blog. I currently live directly across the road from where you used to live! I will wave at your past self when I leave my falt in the mornings! : ) Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

