I Love Purple – more pattern making

Purple teeshirt

I finished the purple top yesterday and couldn’t wait to wear it.  It’s made from a wool mix knit fabric that I bought in Ditto, Brighton just before Christmas. It doesn’t count as a stash bust really but it’s exciting for another reason: I made the pattern.

Pattern making book

This 1985 book was my chief helper.

It explains very clearly how to make patterns from clothes you like without unpicking them.

Teeshirt pattern

Part of the pattern.

  I traced it onto greaseproof paper which seems ok for pattern making.  The book suggests using brown paper, yesterday’s newspaper, tissue paper or non-woven textiles specially made for pattern making.

Problems? There weren’t any, just a few things I had to consider.

I checked that the pattern pieces fitted together before I laid them on the fabric and added the seam allowances once the pattern was pinned to the fabric.

I remembered the top well enough to know what it should look like so it was easy to put together.

The knit fabric is very stretchy so I had to tape the inside of the neckline to hold it firm.

Would I make another?

Just try stopping me!

Purple teeshirt

Outfit details

Top – purple wool mix knit fabric ,

Skirt – purple wool mix fabric , pattern self drafted using the same book.

Tights – retail

Neckace 1970s – inherited from my mother

My tumbling blocks quilt is in the bag on the floor – I’m still working on it

Linking to Lakota’s Ta Dah Tuesday

16 thoughts on “I Love Purple – more pattern making

  1. How cool. Sounds like a good reference book to have. Both purple items look great on you and I especially like the addition of the dotted tights! That must’ve felt good after that workout with the bras…

  2. Hello Rosy, That book sounds awesome. With the cost of patterns these days, it would be much cheaper to work with clothing that I already have. Great inspiration. I am visiting via Ta Da Tuesday! Nice to meet you. And I know it’s the focal part of your outfit, but your polka dot tights are so cute. I really should change my blog title to I Love Polka Dots. :)

    Sue xo

  3. What a great idea, and look how well the top turned out! Beautiful colour too.I can tell by your big smile that you are happy with it! xxx

  4. Very nice top and it looks terrific with that equally nice skirt! Good for you for making your own patterns. That’s so neat that you’re able to do so.

  5. Congratulations! It looks great on you. i hope you do make more. You’ll get better and better at patternmaking and sewing as you go along. I’m very happy for you. And it looks just right with that purple skirt I like so much.

  6. Was it was here? « Rosyragpatch's Blog

  7. I love purple, too, so this outfit is right up my alley. (Now I see why you commented on my purple paisley corduroys). I’m glad that you found this book useful. I actually bought this same book at the thrift store, read through it and took it back to the thrift store just a few days ago. I felt like it wouldn’t help me reproduce clothes that have more structure. I just go Patternmaking for a Perfect Fit by Steffani Lincecum out of the library. It has more instruction in terms of darts and more fitted clothes.

Leave a Reply

