The Bra Makers Tale

Finished bra

The finished bra!

Lots of you will know that I joined the bra making sew along run by lovely Amy at Cloth Habit.  There were great hints and tips and I really enjoyed it. I made my bra from a few bits of silk taffeta left from this skirt.

Silk taffeta skirt and top

Bras don’t use up much fabric and it seemed an ideal chance to use up some very pretty stuff.  Fitting is a bit difficult because there is not much stretch, so I made a toile.

bra toile

I made alterations to the pattern and made another toile – hooray, it fitted.

Close up

All looks great doesn’t it?  Sadly, unlike the toile it doesn’t fit.  When I was sewing the cups I think I sewed two pieces the wrong way round so it’s now a funny shape.  How did I do it?  How did I not notice? Well, I did think it was much harder to put together than the toile but I kept going.  I should have checked….

Failure! Never mind, I enjoyed it and I will definitely try again.

Thank you so much Amy, I have been wanting to do this for ages and your sew along made me get started.  I really will keep trying.

6 thoughts on “The Bra Makers Tale

  1. It does look fabulous, Norma, I did a little gasp when I saw the photo because the bra looks so professional and pretty.
    What a shame it doesn’t fit! Please try again, I think making your own undies is just the most amazing thing, especially something as tricky to fit as a bra. xxxx

  2. Ahhh, what a bummer. Especially after your first trial one fit. Can you take it apart and recut the parts that went wrong and resew. You probably need a breather first. Do you know Louisa of Damselfly’s Delight? She’s been calling it Bra Wars, but finally finished hers successfully. I, of course, quit in the very beginning knowing I couldn’t take the frustration. Anyway, it looks beautiful. Congratulations on giving it a go. At least you know you can do it.

  3. Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog…So cool that you tried to make a bra…I find hand made things so appealing/ inspiring, sadly my sewing skills are limited to needlework, can’t use a sewing machine to save my life :(
    You have a beautiful blog x

Leave a Reply

