Five skirts, one pattern

Purple skirt

I made this skirt over Christmas and I wore it a few times.  I love the buttons and the bright purple lining that you can just see in this photo.  It’s made of an 80% wool remnant that I got from Ditto in Brighton.  There are no photos of me wearing it because I think it looks frumpy with my boots so I need to take it up a couple of inches to just above the knee.  I didn’t cover the buttons myself but oddly, they match my favourite purple/pink lace top.

P1110454

The five skirts

Four have button fronts and one has a zip in the back.  The pattern’s significance to me is that I made it myself by drawing around an old skirt. Does that count as self drafting?

The first version has a back zip and the back darts in the wrong place.

I did nothing with the pattern for ages but when I wanted a skirt with buttons down the front, I altered it. There were two pretty awful versions now recycled.  The remaining five are wearable.

I like this black one and wear it a lot.

I love this orange tweed one.

This one is ok but needs a lining – it crumples very easily.I have bought the lining fabric and will one day get round to doing it.

I always think of the black one with a zip as my funeral skirt – it’s very warm and respectable. It was the first version and the thick material hides the drafting mistakes.  Its best point is its purple lining.

N

This is the promised close up of the needlecord top.  I have tried to show the contrasting facings – the remnant wasn’t big enough to cut the facings out of it. I have been wearing it with a long sleeved teeshirt underneath so it’s getting lots of use despite the lack of sleeves.

I am waiting anxiously for my bra pattern – can’t be long now.

16 thoughts on “Five skirts, one pattern

  1. They are all fab! I really like the orange one, and the purple one, and I love the jeans bag with the one you are going to line-made by your own fair hand, no doubt!

  2. Just making them out of different colors and fabrics changes the whole look, don’t you think? I never think of lining things. hmmm. They look great and so does that paisley vest/top.

    By the way I just ordered by bra pattern and kit today from the Fabric Depot. So I’ll be joining the sew-along too.

    • In a previous life I used to have some very smart clothes & the skirts – & even trousers were lined. I can’t go that far but I think it makes a difference to them.
      Glad you are joining the bra sew along.

  3. Wow… great skirts you’ve got there. I’m always amazed how even small adjustments to a hemline can make the difference between fashionable and frumpy. These look very nice and I love your boots!

  4. Those are all nice skirts, and I think you can definitely claim self-drafting status! Which bra pattern did you order? I am so into making lingerie at the mo’… it is fun and addictive. I am sure you will enjoy it!

  5. Wearing the Blues | Rosyragpatch's Blog

Leave a Reply

