Refashioning old silk shirts and scarves

1990s silk shirt

This shirt is made from lovely soft silk.  I think it dates from the early 1990s and I bought it in a charity shop.  I repaired and wore it a few times but decided it would be better turned into something else.  There were quite a few worn patches to avoid so I had to make something small.

Silk shirt refashion 1

Made using an old pattern  from Sew Hip magazine. I had to  make these in four pieces but French seams make them very comfortable anyway.

And then I got carried away.

Silk Knickers 1

The broderie anglaise pair are from a silk shirt I made but hardly wore because the colour doesn’t suit my face. Ok as knickers though.  I’ve got enough fabric left to make another pair from that and from the delicate silk scarf I used to make the other pair.

I can’t do much sewing at the moment because the room I use is being redecorated & everything is bagged up for sorting.  I’m looking for new storage & I’m going to reduce what I have. A year of mainly using my stash doesn’t seem to have made much impression on the mounds of fabric bits I have.

And here is the top I made over the Christmas holiday……

Burda top in needlecord

Top is Burda 2934.  Another version shown here.  This one is from a  needlecord remnant I bought from Ditto when I went to a drawing class in Brighton just before Christmas. The remnant wasn’t quite big enough so I used some stash fabric for the facings & bias binding.  I will try to remember to do a close up photo as I think the conrast actually improves the look of  the top.

Thanks for all the suggestions about my 1970s dress.  I am going for mini length with three quarter length sleeves.  Roobeedoo suggested the longer length dress might make me look like a lady vicar & I think she could be right. I am going to the Goldhawk Road shops tomorrow to try to get some fabric.

13 thoughts on “Refashioning old silk shirts and scarves

  1. The silk scanties are inspired! You could start your own lingerie line with those, French knickers would be nice too… Just saying! (I would buy them!)
    The top looks great too, love the colour. Yes, close up pics please. xxx

    • I was thinking of French knickers – there is an explanation of how to cut & make them in one of my 1930s sewing books. I might try making a pattern.

  2. Wow, great idea. Still haven’t made underwear yet, but it’s on my want to do someday list. Seems difficult. You’re getting rid of your fabric stash?! Oh my. I know it doesn’t seem as though mine has diminished either. It’s just more organized.

    • Thanks! You should give it a try. I am planning on joining the bra sew-in. Add to my wardrobe.
      I don’t know how much of my stash will go. I think I will have to be brave…

  3. I am so impressed by how you turned that blouse and other things into beautiful and decadent undies. I bet they are very comfortable to wear. Very pretty.

  4. Bra Making Sew Along « Rosyragpatch's Blog

Leave a Reply

