1970s Dress and Some Plans for 2013

Woman's Weekly Dress 1970s

This dress appeared in Woman’s Weekly in the 1970s.  Looks pretty awful doesn’t it? I think if I’d seen this photo rather than the pattern drawing I wouldn’t have bid for it on Ebay. But…

Woman's Weekly Dress Pattern 1970s

Much better like this isn’t it?   I’m thinking of long sleeves but I’m not sure whether short or midi.  Anyone any thoughts, please? I’d welcome some advice.

Minoru pattern

I’ve just signed up over at Did You Make That? to make this jacket this year.  I was going to make it in the autumn but I never got round to it. I couldn’t find any waterproof fabric so I did nothing.  This year I plan to make a wearable toile and keep looking for attractive waterproof stuff.  Is there such a thing?  I think there must be, but where?

New Look 6000 Pattern

I bought this last year when so many people were making it.  It’s a lovely dress and I could do with more dresses. So, wearable toile here we come!

I ‘ve made a skirt and nearly finished a top over the Christmas break so I’ll show some photos very soon.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL OF YOU!

9 thoughts on “1970s Dress and Some Plans for 2013

  1. One of my resolutions this year is to get sewing. But I will surely have to do some practice before I tackle a dress like these two lovelies you’re planning to make. I think the 70s dress would go nicely with a 3/4 length sleeve. Always a nice length to show off bracelets! Happy new year to you.

    • I think you are right about the sleeves.
      If you haven’t sewn much before, a short straight skirt is a pretty good starting point.

  2. Ah, so you already have things lined up for sewing. I admire that you do a toile first. I always just go straight ahead on it and then do whatever drastic measures I have to to make up for it. All the patterns have a nice simplicity to them, but interesting in cut. So let’s see what you’ve just made already!

    • Your stuff comes out really well but my dress patterns are both a bit smaller than I am – tricky adjustment to make.

  3. The drawings definitely give the 70s dress a funkier edge, the photo looks a little Princess Anne-ish! I like the idea of 3/4 length sleeves too. Good luck with all your sewing projects this year. I am hoping to join you and actually make something this year – yes, really! xxx

  4. Wow – the difference between the drawing and the photo is quite alarming! My mother had a hat like that… :S
    I would make the dress above-the-knee to balance the high neck. Otherwise it might look very lady-vicar-ish.
    Good luck!

  5. I like it in both the drawings and the photograph…
    Waterproof fabric is quite hard to come by but I think there are great options online :)
    All the best for a fantastic New Year Norma!

Leave a Reply

