New Coat at Last

I’ve finished! And I love it!

Back view

Collar close up. I’m afraid my dress form is a bit ropey – sorry about the strange effect.

Front close up.

I know it still buttons on the “boy’s side” but I don’t care about that – my 1940s library book says that button holes should be sewn up and remade on the opposite side.  I think the binding is a good enough distraction.

The book also says that the lining should be opened and the side seams tailored to fit.  I thought the coat looked fine in a loose silhouette. It’s good for getting lots of warm clothes underneath.

What I did:

Mended the back and covered it with binding.

Shortened the sleeves and added binding.

Added binding to the pocket openings.

Changed the buttons.

Added decorative buttons.

Added binding to the front openings.

What did I use?

The binding is a blue wool melton. I used what was left over from this quilt.

The buttons were all used before on other clothes.

I’m linking this to Lakota’s Ta Dah Tuesday.  Why not pop over and take a look at the other projects there – always fun!

11 thoughts on “New Coat at Last

  1. What an amazing job you did, I am so impressed! Love the binding and the buttons, and the detail at the back. It looks great on you! xx

  2. Love this jacket, the buttons are so much fun. I follow you blog, but am not getting these updates. Hmm… wonder what’s going on. I can’t get into my reader to “find friends” either, so please don’t think I’ve wondered off. :)

  3. What a lovely coat transformation. The blue binding and the different buttons are a great touch. And the back looks terrific too. Well done. I don’t care what side my buttons are on either! Thanks for stopping by Project Minima. I love looking at your work.

Leave a Reply

