A 1930s Sewing Machine and a Coat in Progress

This lovely 1930s machine was a gift and I think it is wonderful.  It is the only one of my 1930s machines left.

At one time I had four sewing machines but I sew in a very small room and I could hardly move.  Now I have only this one and a modern Pfaff.

This sewing machine can get through horse rugs without difficulty and yet it sews lightweight fabric really well.  A real treasure!

This what I’m working on at the moment.  It’s a man’s wool coat torn at the back. I’m hoping to get a coat for me out of this.

The before picture.

It’ll be a long time before I show the after photos, I think.

14 thoughts on “A 1930s Sewing Machine and a Coat in Progress

  1. Beautiful old machine, just like the one I first used when I was a kid!
    Looking forward to seeing what you do with the coat. xx

  2. I have my Nana’s Singer, similar age, with a cylinder bobbin rather than a round one. It is so reliable, I love it. I do have a little electric one as well, but much prefer my Singer! Look forward to seeing your coat all modified and customised; it will look fab!

    • These Singers are really popular aren’t they? I felt so lucky to be given one. I hope the coat lives up to expectations.

  3. I have both Jon’s Grandma’s & my great-grandma’s Singers but can’t seem to get on with them. They are both fabulous to look at though! Can’t wait to see your revamped coat! x

    • Would love to see photos of them – they are beauties aren’t they. They take a bit of work to get them back into working order but once they are going they are marvelous machines.

    • I have done a bit of work on it so I will take some photos. It’s not as daunting as it seems – black fabric is quite forgiving. My current problem is that I can’t find any interesting buttons in the right size. I don’t quite know what to do about that.

  4. It is a handsome machine. I hope it is of good use to you. I know what it’s like to be a fabric collector, I can’t imagine having more than one sewing machine though! Looking forward to the coat transformation.
    BTW – I did not get into the Green Shoes course. Maybe on my next trip to the UK.

  5. OK, I’ve been catching up your blog backwards. Now I see the coat that you started with. The finished product is so nice… really like the binding and buttons… very well done!

Leave a Reply

